2016 Schoonmaker Cup Miami Final Results

Several D5 Star Class members in the top 10 finishers at 2016 Schoonmaker Cup. Regatta report by Paul Cayard

Star Winter Series at Coconut Grove, Florida:

2016 Schoonmaker with Danny and Paul Cayard

2016 Schoonmaker Cup with Danny and Paul Cayard at Coral Reef Yacht Club Miami, FL

Danny and I are back in the Grove for more Star Racing. This time the Schoonmaker Cup with 20 other teams.

For this event, I am crewing for Danny. It has been fun to share the Star with him this past year and I hope he enjoys Star sailing for as many years as I and his grandfather have!

It’s been a while since I was in the front of a Star and today we had 3 races in 15 knots from the east. I will sleep well tonight!

We had some great moments and some more challenging moments. At the end of the first day, we are tied for 9th with Arthur Anosov, the winner of the Masters two weeks ago.

Augie Diaz and Arnie Baltins had a great day with a 2, 1, 1. Brian Cramer of Canada is in second and George Szabo third.

Read the full regatta report at StarClass.org


2016 Schoonmaker Cup Races Miami Coral Reef Yacht Club

Click to enlarge: 2016 Schoonmaker Cup Miami Final Results

Ed Sprague Sailing Fast

Edwin SpragueThe San Diego Bay Fleet and 5th District has lost a most ardent supporter. Edwin Sprague passed away peacefully at his home on July 10, 2013. Ed had been struggling with health problems but fortunately he always had his wife Frieda by his side.


Ed and Frieda sailed together often, never accepting the tow but instead sailing out, most times beating everyone out to the race course! Ed competed in a number of Star Championships including the 1985 NA’s with Frieda crewing for him. Ed was also well known for promoting the class to young sailors, taking many current SDB Star regulars for their first ride on a Star. He clearly enjoyed being on the water and the camaraderie that resulted from it.


Over a number of years Ed worked on a history of the San Diego Star Fleet. Much of the information contained in the history came from material accumulated by his friend Lowell North. By 2003 the general outline of this encyclopedic work came together, and after four year of working with an editor it was published in June, 2007. The two volume set contained over 1,000 pages of San Diego Bay Star Fleet History and Star Class History. It weighs in at 12.8 pounds!


Ed was an extremely kind person, a hard worker and a tremendous help behind the scenes. He served as a SDB fleet officer and as 5th District Secretary from 1995-2001. Frieda and Ed hosted the Oktoberfest Regatta (his own creation) many times, turning their backyard into a Biergarten and serving traditional German cuisine. Ed represented the best that the Star class has ever offered. He will be missed!


As Ed always signed off —– Sail Fast


A memorial service will be held on Saturday July 20th at 1:00 PM

St. Peter’s by the Sea Lutheran Church

1371 Sunset Cliffs Boulevard

San Diego CA 92107.


Followed by a reception at 2:00 pm

Southwestern Yacht Club

2702 Qualtrough Street

San Diego CA 92106

2012 D5 Full Schedule Now Final

2011 Rollins Bowl winner

2011 Rollin's Bowl winners: Mark Reynolds, Hal Haenel, Mark Strube, Erik Lidecis, Jim Buckingham, George Szabo

With the help of several members in our District and the help of Racing Chairs of the hosting Yacht Clubs, our 2012 District 5 race schedule is now final (see right sidebar).

This season the District 5 Championship will be hosted by Newport Harbor Yacht Club on the weekend of June 30th and July 1st.

We are also continuing the “2012 Stump Peters Series”, a five regatta series first started last season (denoted by “SP” on schedule). The series brought out top teams in our district like Mark Reynolds /Hal Haenel and George Szabo / Mark Strube. Last season’s Stump Peter’s Series winners were:

1st George Szabo / Mark Strube
2nd Mark Reynolds / Hal Haenal
3rd Jim Buckingham and Crew

US SAILING Announces 2011 US Sailing Team AlphaGraphics

The 2011 US Sailing Team AlphaGraphics (USSTAG) for the Star Class are (alphabetical order by last name):

Andrew Campbell (San Diego, Calif.) and Ian Coleman (Annapolis, Md.)
Andy Horton (So. Burlington, Vt.) and James Lyne(Granville, Vt.)
Andy MacDonald (Laguna Beach, Calif.) and Brad Nichol (Miami Beach, Fla.)
Mark Mendelblatt (St. Petersburg, Fla.) and Brian Fatih (Miami, Fla.)
Rick Merriman (New York, N.Y.) and John von Schwarz (Annapolis, Md.)
George Szabo (San Diego, Calif.) and Mark Strube (Punta Gorda, Fla.)

For the full store go to here.

Updated District 5 Schedule

8320 beating through a lot of weather - photo by FRIED ELLIOTT www.friedbits.com

The District 5 Star Class Schedule is now final. This season will be a busy one. You will see a more coordinated effort to bring more Stars out to play and more Stars to travel to regattas throughout our District. We want to thank all members and their respective yacht clubs for their continued support of the Star Class.  Special thanks to California Yacht Club, San Diego Yacht Club, Santa Barbara Yacht Club, San Diego Yacht Club, New Port Harbor Yacht Club, and St. Francis Yacht Club.